Skip to main content Skip to footer

Smoke-Free Workplace

The Kent City Health Department is charged with supporting the Ohio Smoke-Free Law. On November 7, 2006, Ohioans passed Issue 5, Ohio's first Smoke-Free Workplace Act, creating a new chapter of Ohio Revised Code, Chapter 3794. Ohio's Smoke-Free Workplace Act creates a uniform statewide minimum standard to protect workers and the public from the health hazards associated with exposure to secondhand smoke from tobacco.

Ohio's Smoke-Free Workplace Act went into effect on December 7, 2006, and enforcement began May 3, 2007. This Law restricts tobacco smoking in public places and places of employment. In addition, tobacco smoke is prohibited from infiltrating these public places. Local health departments receive reports of violations from the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) and conduct investigations to see if a violation occurred.

Report a Violation

No smoking! To report violations, call 866-559-6446 (OHIO).

ODH established a statewide toll-free hotline for reporting violations to the Smoke-Free Workplace Act. To report a violation with the Ohio Department of Health, call 866-559-6446 (OHIO) or submit a violation online.

Learn More

ODH established a website and a toll-free hotline to answer your questions concerning enforcement of the law, the law itself, and violations. The hotline is available during normal ODH business hours, Monday through Friday. Messages can be left after business hours.

To learn more, call the hotline at 1-866-634-7654 or visit the Ohio Department of Health Smoke-Free website.


  • First violation - Warning letter
  • Second violation - $100
  • Third violation - $500
  • Fourth violation - $1,000
  • Fifth and subsequent violations - $2,500


  • First violation - Warning letter
  • Second and subsequent violations - $100




This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies.